Residencies

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS (ANNUAL)

Every fall, AXENÉO7 launches a call for submissions for projects to join its regular programming.* The centre invites artists, curators, researchers, and collectives to submit a project of exhibitions and residencies. AXENÉO7 encourages First Nations, disabled, and visible minority artists to submit their dossiers. Proposals are selected by a programming committee.

*Please take notes that the call for submissions scheduled for fall 2020 will exceptionally be postponed to spring 2021

Autorésidences

In the current events which are causing us all to rethink our ways of doing things, the artist-run centre AXENÉO7 is proposing the following remote initiative to artists in order "[...] to expand the parameters of artistic practice and its presentation, and to improve artists’ conditions for production".* As such, through this initiative, AXENÉO7 is going to participate in the collective effort to support the work of artists and artists-curators in isolation.

AXENÉO7 launches the Autorésidences program. An extraordinary program calling for twenty proposals of autonomous residency project to be initiate from home during this period of self-isolation. The results of the residencies will be presented within the coming year, over the course of regular events to be held at AXENÉO7.

Due to the unique nature of this crisis, confusion is a natural response. AXENÉO7 proposes that we reframe how we view this exceptional situation not as a limiting imposition, but as an opportunity for creative freedom, abundant in its virtuality. We aim to structure Autorésidences around the proposals we select and in collaboration with the artists. In the context of this call for proposals, AXENÉO7 wants to lighten the guidelines in order to allow artists and artists-curators to pursue their research and, in so doing, create a collaborative relationship which can extend beyond the limits of physical presence.

Duration : Lockdown period, 2020 — 2021
Allocated amount: A financial contribution of $ 1,500 per project.

Residency 

As part of its regular programming, AXENÉO7 — artist-run centre offers its residence space to each artists benefiting from an exhibition in its galleries — facilitating the realization of the exhibition. 

Duration of stay: two to four weeks.
Allocated amount: a daily allowance — per diem — of $ 25 in addition to an exhibition fee in accordance with CARFAC standards and a production fee of $ 250.

Residency partnership

AXENÉO7, in collaboration with le lieu unique, is a proud partner of the Research and Creation Residency in Nantes (France) of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ). In 2016, the CALQ signed a partnership agreement with le lieu unique, the scène nationale de Nantes and the City of Nantes, aiming to set up an artist exchange program and studio-residencies between Quebec and France. As part of this exchange, a Quebec visual artist will stay two months in Nantes, at le lieu unique. In return, a French visual artist will be hosted in Quebec, for an equal duration, at AXENÉO7 — artist-run centre.

Modalities of the residency :

The residency offers a stay of two months during the fall, as well as a stipend of $ 6,000. For more information regarding the modalities of the residency partnership :

Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Research and Creation Residency in Nantes (France)

Le lieu unique

Characteristics of the residency location and accommodation

The space dedicated to the pursuit of residencies at AXENÉO7 is located in the La Filature building. Artists in residence have access to a multifunctional studio space as well as a private apartment. Located on two floors, the space allows complete autonomy to resident artists while benefiting from the immediate proximity of AXENÉO7 — artist-run centre, DAÏMÕN — production centre, and a community of local artists.

Ground floor

Multifunctional studio space of approximately 200 square feet / 19 square meters, near a loading dock and a woodshop. The studio space includes:

  • A modular office space
  • Unlimited access to a wireless Internet connection
  • Gallery style lighting system
  • Direct access to the residence’s private apartment


Private apartment

The apartment includes:

  • A fully-equipped kitchenette
  • A private bathroom
  • One bedroom with double-sized bed
  • Storage spaces
  • Unlimited access to a wireless Internet connection
  • Free access to a laundry room (shared)

Résidences

Appel de dossiers (annuel) 

Le Centre d’artistes AXENÉO7 lance chaque automne* un appel de dossiers pour combler sa programmation régulière. Le centre invite les artistes, les commissaires, les chercheur·e·s et les collectifs à soumettre un projet d’exposition, de résidences. Le centre d’artistes AXENÉO7 encourage les Autochtones, les personnes en situations de handicap, les membres de minorités visibles à proposer leur candidature. Les dossiers sont étudiés et sélectionnés par un comité de programmation.

*Veuillez prendre notes que l'appel de dossiers de l'automne 2020 sera exceptionnellement reporté au printemps 2021

Autorésidences

Dans la situation actuelle qui nous amène à réfléchir autrement nos façons de faire, le Centre d’artistes AXENÉO7 propose une initiative exceptionnelle de résidences à distance afin de continuer « [...] à se consacrer au renouvellement des paramètres des pratiques artistiques, à l’amélioration des conditions de production et à la diversification des modes de présentation des arts actuels »*. Ainsi, par le biais de ce projet, le centre souhaite participer à l’effort collectif de soutenir le travail des artistes et artistes-commissaires en isolement.

AXENÉO7 lance le programme ponctuel d’Autorésidences par lequel il retiendra une vingtaine de propositions, des projets de résidences autonomes à initier à domicile pendant la période de confinement. Les résultats issus des Autorésidences seront présentés dans le cadre d’événements ponctuels qui se tiendront à AXENÉO7 dans la prochaine année.

De par son unicité, la crise engendre une certaine confusion. AXENÉO7 propose ici de voir cette situation exceptionnelle non pas comme un élément limitant, mais comme un espace de liberté de création, foisonnant de virtualité. Ainsi, nous ambitionnons d’articuler l’initiative d’Autorésidences en fonction des projets retenus, et ce, en collaboration avec les participants. Dans le cadre de cet appel, le centre souhaite alléger les directives afin de permettre aux artistes et artistes-commissaires de poursuivre leurs recherches et par le fait même construire avec eux des liens de collaboration par-delà la présence physique.

*Énoncé de la Mission du centre d’artistes AXENÉO7.

Résidence 

À travers sa programmation régulière, le Centre d’artistes AXENÉO7 offre son espace de résidence à chacun des artistes qui bénéficient d’une exposition en ses galeries afin de faciliter la réalisation de celle-ci.

Résidence croisée 

AXENÉO7, en collaboration avec le lieu unique (officiel), est fier partenaire de la Résidence de recherche et de création à Nantes (France) du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ). Le CALQ a conclu en 2016 une entente de partenariat avec le lieu unique, scène nationale de Nantes et la Ville de Nantes visant la mise en place d’un programme d’échanges d’artistes et d’ateliers-résidences entre le Québec et la France. Dans le cadre de cet échange, un artiste visuel québécois pourra séjourner deux mois à Nantes, au lieu unique. En contrepartie, un artiste visuel français sera accueilli au Québec, pour une égale durée, au Centre d’artistes AXENÉO7.

Caractéristiques de la résidence croisée :

Le séjour — se déroulant annuellement à l'automne — est d'une durée de deux mois additionné d'une bourse d'un montant de 6000 $. Pour plus d'informations relatives aux caractéristiques de la résidence croisée :

Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Résidence de recherche et de création à Nantes (France)

Le lieu unique

Caractéristiques du lieu de résidence 

L’espace de résidence AXENÉO7 est situé à même l’édifice de La Filature. Les artistes en résidence disposent d’un espace d’atelier multifonctionnel ainsi qu’un appartement privé. Sur deux étages, l’espace permet aux artistes résidents une autonomie de vie complète en bénéficiant de la proximité immédiate du Centre d’artistes AXENÉO7, du Centre de production DAÏMÕN ainsi que d’une communauté d’artistes locaux. 


Rez-de-chaussée

Espace d’atelier multifonctionnel d’une dimension approximative de 200 pieds carré / 19 mètres carré, à proximité d’un quai de chargement et d’une menuiserie.

L’espace d’atelier comprend:

  • Un espace de bureau modulable
  • Un accès illimité à une connexion internet sans fil
  • Un système d’éclairage de style galerie
  • Un accès direct à l’appartement privé annexé

Appartement (privé)

L’appartement comprend :

  • Une cuisinette équipée
  • Une salle de bains privée
  • Une chambre à coucher avec lit double
  • Plusieurs espaces de rangements
  • Un accès illimité à une connexion Internet sans fil
  • Un accès gratuit à une buanderie (partagée)