The Gathering

John Boyle-Singfield

Exhibition
Opening

Music by DJ Rodrigo Medrano

Free admission
Free parking
Cash bar

The film The Gathering and the eponymous exhibition, focus on the relationship between bureaucracy and the arts culture. Specifically, this work portrays art as an anti-bureaucratic endeavour that is paradoxically essential to maintaining the ‘administrative state’.

The short film produced during a residency at AXENÉO7 features a series of clips depicting a trip between the offices of the Canada Council for the Arts and a store specializing in role-playing games, playing cards and fantasy novels located on a street adjacent to the Council building. This process advances the symbiotic relationship — ideologically speaking — between the two institutions, even though they are organizationally quite different.

Fantasy universes and administrative structures

For Boyle-Singfield, fantasy worlds are a powerful metaphor for our sublimated relationship with the administrative structures of our societies. While role-playing games such as Dungeons and Dragons allow players to become barbarians, sorcerers or priests through epic adventures, they seem to be far removed from any kind of administrative formality. And yet, these platforms involve an impressive number of forms, charts, character stats, saving throws and a variety of inventories. It is therefore perhaps unrealistic to imagine a fantasy world without the spectre of bureaucracy. The gratuitous violence of this Game of Thrones-like universe becomes a psychological escape from our constitutional state and also reminds us that a bureaucracy-free reality could never actually exist.

Magic: The Gathering

Borrowing its name from the famous collectible card game Magic: The Gathering, the exhibition highlights the bureaucracy on which the art world is built. The term Gathering refers not only to the collecting of information but also to the endless administrative meetings held in the Canada Council offices.

The art world is therefore in a catch-22 situation. Despite the increasing professionalization of artists according to an entrepreneurial logic, artistic practice is invariably perceived by society as a romantic and poorly paid endeavour. This fabled “cursed entrepreneur” figure responds to authorities by playing a conflicting dual role and is forced to bend to bureaucratic logic and sovereign violence. At the same time, such individuals must project themselves as embodying the opposite of this bureaucracy to give society the fanciful negation it needs to be satisfied.

While he does not deny the poetic aspect of role-playing or the artistic profession, Boyle-Singfield seeks to underscore the ideology to which artists and culture in general are subjected. By depicting the violence of an administrative apparatus and a culture steeped in artifice, The Gathering turns around the mirror of hypocritical attitudes based on the bureaucratic/financial complex.

John Boyle-Singfield completed his master's degree at Concordia University in 2020. His work explores notions of language and exhibition through a practice blending performance, video, installation and Net art. Boyle-Singfield introduces a complex interplay of representation of various kinds of power through the art object he produces. He uses his succinct interventions, which are often laced with humour, to create a space for reflection on the aspects of joy and violence depicted in his work. John Boyle-Singfield recently exhibited his work at the artist-run centres AXENÉO7 (Gatineau, 2020), La Chambre Blanche (Quebec City, 2019), Folie/Culture (Quebec City, 2019), VOX (Montreal, 2018), DARE-DARE (Montreal, 2017), L'Écart (Rouyn-Noranda, 2017), and the Whitney Museum (New York, 2016).

thegathering.johnboylesingfield.net

Partners

The Gathering

John Boyle-Singfield

Exposition
Ouverture

Musique par Dj Rodrigo Medrano

Entrée libre
Stationnement gratuit
Bar payant

Présentée parallèlement à l’exposition 
État des lieux de Lucie Rocher.

Le film The Gathering et l’exposition éponyme, portent sur la relation entre la bureaucratie et la culture des arts. Plus particulièrement, ce travail dresse un portrait de l’art comme une activité antibureaucratique étant paradoxalement essentielle au maintien de l’état administratif.

Le court métrage réalisé dans le cadre d’une résidence à AXENÉO7 met en scène une série de séquences formant un trajet entre les bureaux du Conseil des arts du Canada et une boutique spécialisée en jeux de rôles, cartes à jouer et romans de fantaisie, située sur une rue adjacente à l’immeuble du Conseil. Ce procédé avance la relation symbiotique — sur le plan idéologique — entre les deux institutions, et ce, bien qu’elles soient particulièrement distinctes sur le plan organisationnel.

Univers fantastiques et structures administratives

Boyle-Singfield conçoit les mondes fantastiques comme une métaphore saisissante de notre relation sublimée avec les structures administratives de nos sociétés. Si les jeux de rôles tels que Donjons et Dragons permettent, à travers des aventures épiques, aux joueur.euses d’incarner des barbares, des mages ou des prêtre.esses, ceux-ci semblent à mille lieues de toute formalité administrative. En parallèle, une quantité impressionnante de formulaires, tableaux, statistiques de personnages, jets de sauvegarde et inventaires de toutes sortes forment les fondements de ces plates-formes. Suivant ce constat, est-il invraisemblable d’imaginer un monde fantastique sans la présence spectrale de la bureaucratie ? La violence gratuite de cet univers à la Game of Thrones devient non seulement un exutoire psychologique de notre état de droit, mais nous rappelle aussi que toute réalité antibureaucratique serait impossible à vivre concrètement.

Magic: The Gathering

Empruntant son titre à la fameuse compagnie de cartes à jouer Magic: The Gathering, l’exposition souligne le caractère bureaucratique qui forme les assises du monde de l’art. En effet, le terme Gathering renvoie non seulement à la collecte d’informations, mais également aux perpétuelles assemblées administratives entreprises dans les bureaux du Conseil des arts du Canada.

Le monde de l’art est ainsi soumis à une double condition. Malgré une professionnalisation croissante des artistes selon une logique entrepreneuriale, la pratique artistique est invariablement conçue en société comme une activité romantique et peu rémunérée. Cette figure fantasmagorique de « l’entrepreneur.euse-maudit.e » répond aux instances du pouvoir en opérant un double rôle antagonique. D’un côté, l’individu en question doit irrémédiablement se plier à la logique bureaucrate et à ses violences souveraines. De l’autre, il doit se projeter en tant qu’incarnation contraire de cette bureaucratie afin de donner à la société la négation fantaisiste dont elle a besoin pour compenser ses désirs.

Sans nier la dimension poétique des jeux de rôles ou de la profession d’artiste, Boyle-Singfield cherche à souligner l’idéologie à laquelle les artistes et la culture en général sont substitués. En montrant la violence d’un appareil administratif et d’une culture empreinte d’artifices, The Gathering renverse le miroir des attitudes hypocrites construites à l’aune du complexe bureaucratico-financier.

John Boyle-Singfield est titulaire d’une maîtrise à l’université Concordia (2020). Son travail porte sur les notions de langage et d’exposition, à l’aide d’une pratique alliant la performance, la vidéo, l’installation et le Net art. Boyle-Singfield engage un jeu complexe de représentation des pouvoirs à travers les objets d’art qu’il produit. Souvent teinté d’humour, le laconisme de ses interventions lui permet de créer un territoire de réflexion sur les joies et les violences figurées dans ses œuvres. John Boyle-Singfield a récemment présenté son travail aux centres AXENÉO7 (Gatineau, 2020), La Chambre Blanche (Québec, 2019), Folie/Culture (Québec, 2019), VOX (Montréal, 2018), DARE-DARE (Montréal, 2017), L’Écart (Rouyn-Noranda, 2017), ainsi qu’au Whitney Museum (New York, 2016).

thegathering.johnboylesingfield.net

Partenaires