cscenna_frostflowers-genzkenhaacke

Extramural Exhibition | Atrium LNSGD

Pluton

Carolyne Scenna

Extramural Exhibition

AXENÉO7 — artist-run centre and DAÏMÔN — production centre, in collaboration with La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins (LNSGD), present a series of four exhibitions in the singular space of LNSGD; its atrium.

Over the seasons, these exhibitions will offer various reflections on the notions of performativity and theatricality through photographic and mainly videographic works, or even scenic installations. The programming artists, Le Cabinet de Fumisterie Appliquée (Paris, France), Kyle Bustin (Gatineau), Chloë Lum and Yannick Desranleau (Montreal), as well as Carolyne Scenna (Montreal), stage interactions, animations and, moreover, experiments by bodies in motion.

Through the teeming and moving universe of the animated work Pluton, the artist, Carolyne Scenna, draws from her own personal archives (her experiences), the codes of the Web, and popular culture in order to stage polysemic captures. The hybrid images are therefore assembled, juxtaposed, and superimposed in an animation which, sort of infinite mise en abyme, seems to be perpetually becoming. This processual narration is thus detached from reality and puts to the test the precariousness inherent in the making of images and their pre-eminence in everyday life.

Carolyne Scenna’s work takes various forms: photography, lo-fi videos, installations, and various objects. Eager to discover prodigious accesses to the world — never enough filled with images — she revisits and manipulates her photographic archives, tracing back and forth between the processes she experiences. Her works offer new situations, bordering on the strange and the ordinary: the images that the artist advances unfold in a variety of meanings, often poetic and contradictory. With the collective Les Sabines, she is involved in fanzine, of which there are to date nine published titles, the multimedia performance (“La vie en reel”, various occurrences since 2013) and, recently, intervention in public space (Dare-Dare, 2019).

Carolyne Scenna holds a Masters in Visual and Media Arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal (2017). Her works have been presented, among others, at galerie Les Territoires (forced air : les ventilateurs, 2015), at the Parisian Laundry (Collision 12, 2016), at the Galerie de l'UQAM (Je suis la pire à […], 2017), at the Centre Clark (Pluton, 2019), at ICA in Baltimore (USA) (The Track, 2019), at Galerie B-312 (La Track, 2020), and soon in collaboration with the artist Isabelle Guimond at the centre SKOL (Le phénomène du dortoir, 2021).

Partners

cscenna_frostflowers-genzkenhaacke

Exposition extra-muros | Atrium LNSGD

Pluton

Carolyne Scenna

Exposition extra-muros

Le Centre d’artistes AXENÉO7 et le Centre de production DAÏMÔN, en collaboration avec La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins (LNSGD), présentent une série de quatre expositions diffusées dans l’espace singulier de LNSGD ; son atrium.

Au fil des saisons, ces expositions proposeront diverses réflexions sur les notions de performativité et de théâtralité par le biais d’œuvres photographiques et principalement vidéographiques, ou encore d’installations scéniques. Les artistes de la programmation, Le Cabinet de Fumisterie Appliquée (Paris, France), Kyle Bustin (Gatineau), Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau (Montréal), ainsi que Carolyne Scenna (Montréal), mettent en scène des interactions, des animations et, de surcroît, des expérimentations par des corps en mouvement.

À travers l’univers foisonnant et mouvant de l’œuvre animée Pluton, l’artiste Carolyne Scenna puise à même ses archives personnelles (ses expériences), les codes du Web et la culture populaire afin de mettre en scène des captations polysémiques. Les images hybrides sont dès lors assemblées, juxtaposées et superposées en une animation qui, sorte de mise en abyme infinie, semble en perpétuel devenir. Cette narration processuelle se détache ainsi du réel et met à l’épreuve la précarité inhérente à la fabrication d’images et leur prééminence dans la vie courante.

L’œuvre de Carolyne Scenna prend diverses formes, elle se matérialise en photographies, en vidéos lo-fi, en installations et en divers objets. Avide de découvrir des accès prodigieux au monde jamais assez rempli des images, elle manipule de manière récurrente ses archives photographiques, traçant des allers-retours entre les procédés qu’elle expérimente. Ses œuvres offrent des situations inédites, à la limite de l’étrange et de l’ordinaire : les images que l’artiste avance se déplient en une diversité de sens, souvent poétiques et contradictoires. Avec le collectif Les Sabines, elle investit le fanzine, dont on compte à ce jour neuf titres publiés, la performance multimédia (« La vie en reel », diverses occurrences depuis 2013) et, depuis peu, l’intervention dans l’espace public (Dare-Dare, 2019).

Carolyne Scenna détient une maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (2017). Ses œuvres ont entre autres été présentées à la galerie Les Territoires (forced air : les ventilateurs, 2015), à la Parisian Laundry (Collision 12, 2016), à la Galerie de l’UQAM (Je suis la pire à […], 2017), au Centre Clark (Pluton, 2019), au ICA à Baltimore (É-U) (The Track, 2019), à la Galerie B-312 (La Track, 2020), et prochainement en collaboration avec l’artiste Isabelle Guimond au centre SKOL (Le phénomène du dortoir, 2021).

Partenaires