image-site-internet-chloe-lum-yannick-desranleau-lnsgd

Extramural Exhibition | Atrium LNSGD

Meditations, Volume 2: Things Remember

Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau

Extramural Exhibition

AXENÉO7 — artist-run centre and DAÏMÔN — production centre, in collaboration with La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins (LNSGD), present a series of four exhibitions in the singular space of LNSGD; its atrium.

Over the seasons, these exhibitions will offer various reflections on the notions of performativity and theatricality through photographic and mainly videographic works, or even scenic installations. The programming artists, Le Cabinet de Fumisterie Appliquée (Paris, France), Kyle Bustin (Gatineau), Chloë Lum and Yannick Desranleau (Montreal), as well as Carolyne Scenna (Montreal), stage interactions, animations and, moreover, experiments by bodies in motion.


Interpreters: Allison Blakley and Emili Losier
Camera: Philip Rose
Costume Assistant: Catherine Joyal
Stage Assistant: Pierre Richardson

The duo Chloë Lum and Yannick Desranleau work in collaboration with professional actors, singers, and dancers. Achieving performances through which the bodies are challenged by means of wearable protean prostheses. These variegated objects, representations of the limits imposed by chronic illnesses, have thus been treated as morphological extensions which restrict the execution of movements and the vocalization of tales to be sung according to scores written by Lum. Meditations, Volume 2: Things Remember depicts, in gestural and textual form, a kind of mediation — of acceptance — between illness and the body.

Characterized by theatricality and choreography, the work of multidisciplinary visual artists Chloë Lum and Yannick Desranleau studies the role of objects, the material condition of the body, and the transformative potential that bodies and objects exert on each other. They have taken part in numerous exhibitions, notably at the Or Gallery, Vancouver; at the Center for Books and Paper Arts, Columbia College, Chicago; at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal; at the Kunsthalle Wien; at the BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art; at the Whitechapel Project Space, London; at the University of Texas, Austin; at the Confederation Centre Art Gallery, Charlottetown; as well as at the Blackwood Gallery, University of Toronto. They presented their performances at Fonderie Darling and as part of the OFFTA festival, Montreal. Their works are part of the collections of the Victoria and Albert Museum, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MBAM), and the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal.

Partners

image-site-internet-chloe-lum-yannick-desranleau-lnsgd

Exposition extra-muros | Atrium LNSGD

Meditations, Volume 2: Things Remember

Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau

Exposition extra-muros

Le Centre d’artistes AXENÉO7 et le Centre de production DAÏMÔN, en collaboration avec La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins (LNSGD), présentent une série de quatre expositions diffusées dans l’espace singulier de LNSGD ; son atrium.

Au fil des saisons, ces expositions proposeront diverses réflexions sur les notions de performativité et de théâtralité par le biais d’œuvres photographiques et principalement vidéographiques, ou encore d’installations scéniques. Les artistes de la programmation, Le Cabinet de Fumisterie Appliquée (Paris, France), Kyle Bustin (Gatineau), Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau (Montréal), ainsi que Carolyne Scenna (Montréal), mettent en scène des interactions, des animations et, de surcroît, des expérimentations par des corps en mouvement.


Interprètes : Allison Blakley et Emili Losier
Caméra : Philip Rose
Assistante aux costumes : Catherine Joyal
Assistant de plateau : Pierre Richardson

Le duo Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau travaille en collaboration avec des acteurs, des chanteurs et des danseurs professionnels afin de réaliser des performances à travers lesquelles les corps sont mis à l’épreuve au moyen de prothèses protéiformes à affubler. Ces objets bigarrés, représentations des limites qu’impose une maladie chronique, s’avèrent ainsi traités comme des extensions morphologiques qui restreignent l’exécution des mouvements et la vocalisation des récits à chanter d’après des partitions écrites par Lum. L’œuvre performative Meditations, Volume 2: Things Remember démontre, sous une forme gestuelle et textuelle, une sorte de médiation — acceptation — entre la maladie et le corps.

Caractérisé par la théâtralité et la chorégraphie, le travail des artistes visuels multidisciplinaires Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau étudie le rôle des objets, la condition matérielle du corps et le potentiel de transformation que les corps et les objets exercent les uns sur les autres. Ils ont pris part à de nombreuses expositions, notamment à la Or Gallery, Vancouver; au Center for Books and Paper Arts, Columbia College, Chicago; au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal; à la Kunsthalle Wien; au BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art; à la Whitechapel Project Space, London; à la University of Texas, Austin; au Confederation Centre Art Gallery, Charlottetown; ainsi qu’au Blackwood Gallery, University of Toronto. Ils ont présenté leurs performances à la Fonderie Darling et dans le cadre du festival OFFTA, Montréal. Leurs œuvres font partie des collections du Victoria and Albert Museum, du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal, et du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal.

Partenaires