Allégories quelconques #1

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt

Performance

As part of the ephemeral radio event Radio-Hull initiated by DAÏMÔN, Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt presents an iteration of his project Allégories quelconques #1. Taking the form of a site-specific radio performance, the work combines video back projection and two-channel low-power radio transmission.

Autorésidences is a remote residency program created by the AXENÉO7 artist-run centre in the exceptional context of the COVID-19 pandemic to continue to support research and development of current art practices.

Allégories quelconques #1 is a series of speculative stories related to (im)personal archives. The rediscovery of a collection of anonymous postcards circulated between the period between the two World Wars and the end of the 30-year post-war boom is an opportunity to experience a latent correspondence between stereotypical views and History. Through a performative writing of these found images, the artist reveals their testimonial potential. By committing them to writing, he turns these objects into documents of other histories and stories and a means of activating other possible connections despite the distance that separates us.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt is a multidisciplinary artist, researcher, and writer. He has developed his practice around working with sound, text, and images through installations and performances. He has presented his work in Québec, around Canada, in Europe and in South America. Since 2016, he is also a member of ACTION INDIRECTE, a collective of varying composition that explores the actions that connect the art and the political. He recently published TADMOR, a poetry collection from the publisher Lézard amoureux. He lives and works between Hull and Ottawa.

Photos de la performance

Small portable radio placed on a bench outside.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Photo credits: Jean-Philippe Pernot

Video back projection presented in a window of the La Filature building.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Photo credits: Jean-Philippe Pernot

Video back projection presented in a window of the La Filature building.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Photo credits: Jean-Philippe Pernot

Video back projection presented in a window of the La Filature building.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Photo credits: Jean-Philippe Pernot

Video back projection presented in a window of the La Filature building.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Photo credits: Jean-Philippe Pernot

Video back projection presented in a window of the La Filature building.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Photo credits: Jean-Philippe Pernot

Video back projection presented in a window of the La Filature building. Spectators are seated on a bench and others are standing.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Photo credits: Jean-Philippe Pernot

A young girl from behind watches a video projection presented in a window of the La Filature building.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Photo credits: Jean-Philippe Pernot

Partners

Allégories quelconques #1

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt

Performance

Dans le cadre de l'événement radiophonique éphémère Radio-Hull initié par le Centre de production DAÏMÔN, Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt présente une itération de son projet Allégories quelconques #1. Prenant la forme d'une Performance-radiophonique in situ, l'oeuvre allie rétroprojection vidéo et transmission radio de faible puissance à deux canaux.

Autorésidences est un programme de résidence à distance initié par le centre d’artistes AXENÉO7, dans le contexte exceptionnel de la pandémie, dans le but de continuer à soutenir la recherche et le développement des pratiques en art actuel.

Allégories quelconques #1 constitue une série de récits spéculatifs en rapport avec des archives (im)personnelles. La redécouverte d’une collection de cartes postales anonymes mises en circulation entre la période d’entre-deux guerres et la fin des « Trentes Glorieuses » est l’occasion d’expérimenter une correspondance larvée entre des vues stéréotypée et l’Histoire. À travers une mise en écriture performative de ces images trouvées, l’artiste dégage la fonction testimoniale en puissance de ces archives. En les « consignant », ces objets deviennent les documents d’autres histoires et un moyen d’activer d’autres liens possibles malgré la distance qui nous sépare.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt est artiste multidisciplinaire, chercheur et écrivain. Il développe sa pratique à travers un travail du son, du texte et de l’image sous forme d’installations et de performances. Il a présenté des œuvres au Québec, au Canada, en Europe et en Amérique du Sud. Depuis 2016, il fait également partie d’ACTION INDIRECTE, un collectif à composition variable explorant des gestes qui connectent art et politique. Il vient de publier TADMOR, un recueil de poésie paru au Lézard amoureux. Il vit et travaille entre Hull et Ottawa.

Photos de la performance

Petite radio portable déposé sur un banc à l'extérieur.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Crédits photo : Jean-Philippe Pernot

Rétroprojection vidéo présentée dans une fenêtre de l'édifice de La Filature.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Crédits photo : Jean-Philippe Pernot

Rétroprojection vidéo présentée dans une fenêtre de l'édifice de La Filature.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Crédits photo : Jean-Philippe Pernot

Projection d'une oeuvre vidéo en rétroprojection dans une fenêtre de l'édifice de La Filature.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Crédits photo : Jean-Philippe Pernot

Rétroprojection vidéo présentée dans la fenêtre de l'édifice de La Filature.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Crédits photo : Jean-Philippe Pernot

Rétroprojection vidéo présentée dans une fenêtre de l'édifice de La Filature. Quelques personnes sont assises sur un banc et d'autres sont debout.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Crédits photo : Jean-Philippe Pernot

Rétroprojection vidéo présentée sur l'édifice de La Filature. Des spectateurs sont assis sur un banc et d'autres sont debout.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Crédits photo : Jean-Philippe Pernot

Une jeune fille de dos regarde retroprojection vidéo présentée dans une fenêtre de l'édifice de La Filature.

Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt, Allégories quelconques #1, 2020.
Crédits photo : Jean-Philippe Pernot

Partenaires